2015 a Year of Endless Opportunities

My Mid summer post still resonates as we enter 2015. So here is a toast to a new year, one with endless possibilities!!! I’m providing an encore for your reading pleasure….

Here is the Original:

The One Year Anniversary

No, this is not a wedding or job anniversary, its one year since I left Marcum. It’s been a strange year and this will be one of my stranger posts.

The Marcum Challenge last year was the day everything unraveled (so tomorrow is officially one year). I can’t say much about my last few days at Marcum , which followed. You know I had a contract going in…and one going out…the preverbial gag order. I will tell you that in hindsight it was a good thing leaving. I was able to give running my advisory firm a try, I learned to fail and get back up. I learned the  type of people I will never ever work for again. And I learned to stand up and say what you need on the way out the door without burning down the bridge. I learned who my real friends are, and who are not. Its funny when your dealing with adversity who comes out of the woodwork to help a friend pivot in their career. It’s also a wake up call to see the people you thought you could count on stay silent.

I made a few friends at Marcum, not as many as I normally do in a work environment, maybe that’s a good thing. I used to believe in having friends at  work. Many business consultants believe friends at work are important…on my one year anniversary, I am not so sure. Maybe that was part of my issue at Marcum, I didn’t like that many of the folks there (wow I said it and I feel better). I am not sure why, maybe the type of place it was to work, or maybe anxiety and stress that we all knew was unnecessary to get the work done. Or it could have been that folks just didn’t like me…probably a combination of all factors, I may never know for sure. One thing I do believe is it is a lot easier to work with people you like and respect and that like and respect you too> All future endeavors will incorporate the like factor into the decision process. I like and respect my current boss. that’s an important starting point…

The important thing is that in the last year I have moved on from a bad work experience. People like to say you learn from bad experiences. This was an extraordinarily bad one…I think that’s partially bullshit, like rain on your wedding day or stepping in dog poo is lucky… we say it to make ourselves and others feel better.

Here are some highlights:

___________________________

Actually I don’t have any, it was a lost year, one you don’t get back. In fact I wish 2014 was over now, even though my strange year started in 2013…I just want some closer. My last three months at Success have been interesting, I am pushing myself again to do great work. I am still teaching at Adelphi in the MBA program in the fall, I may also do some SHRM coursework again in the winter for SHRM locally or even a workshop or two nationally. The consulting firm is still operating, although in a scaled down state. Maybe one day I will turn up the volume with HC3 again.

I am thinking clearly about my career once again…something all of you should be doing. No more “contracts”, we are all free agents and need to keep our skills sharp and up to date.

Well I will use the Marcum challenge as my official one yr. anniversary and consider the lost year officially over.

Happy anniversary!

___________________________

A few notes since this was first posted:

1. Time does heal. The Scars of 2013/2014 are just that – Scars that create a physical proof that something happened.

2. I was harsh about some of the folks I worked with at Marcum. In reality they were victims too (or innocent bystanders). Some of them have moved on like me to new and greener pastures. Others have lived with the cognitive dissonance created by their situations.

3. The jury is still out on my “Success experience”. It’s awesome to work for a Mission (or purpose). The real question is whether this is the right Mission for me. There are so many causes that resonate with my moral fiber. Regardless, I have spearheaded the creation of the Strongest HR and Recruitment team in the Charter School Space Nationally. Now that’s something to hang your hat on….

See you in 2015!

Leave a Reply

