When Reality Reveals Itself

matrix

Morpheus: “Have you ever had a dream, Neo, that you were so sure was real? What if you were unable to wake from that dream? How would you know the difference between the dream world and the real world?”

Morpheus: “This is your last chance. After this, there is no turning back. You take the blue pill – the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill – you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes.”

Two of my favorite quotes from one of the best Sci-Fi movies of all time: “THE MATRIX”

I have been dreaming (and thinking) a lot the past few weeks about work and what we are trying to accomplish. We have a dual mission and I think the organization is making progress on both fronts. But , I am  personally not making sufficient progress. I am making incremental change at best and to some that just isn’t the expectation. Too be honest I am not really sure if I am living in my own version of the matrix, going along and doing what fits my paradigm or as we like to say at my current gig, ‘the optics” of expectation and results. I am starting to question if I have taken the blue pill by design.

I love what I do (HR and mentoring my team)…I see the internal results too. So I don’t think my time is misused or guided….but the real world of public education looks very different from the one I grew up in and the one my daughter has experienced. We call it living in the “bubble’. Maybe it’s not a bubble at all, maybe its the Matrix.

If you lived in the Matrix, would you want to leave it? And what if you did, only to discover there is no returning?

Decisions, Decisions…

Leave a Reply

