The World is My Oyster

eygptshanghaimexicocity

My work has provided me with the opportunity to see many far off lands. My HR thought leadership has also provided me some awesome opportunities. I have spoken at numerous SHRM, World at Work, and miscellaneous industry conference events from NY to Shanghai and many city’s in between. In December I will add Cairo to this list.

Most folks never venture further then 150 miles from their home. So in real terms I have had a unique opportunity to see the world.

It’s not always what it’s cracked up to be. Numerous visits to Mexico and China provided a lens to see how folks in developing countries live. In China my firm had dormitories with 6-8 folks sharing a space about the size of my daughters freshman college dorm room, In Mexico, I witnessed the onslaught of consumerism as factory workers started to emulate US folks in dress, makeup and even attitude….Friday night dress up in their $12 Wal-Mart jeans and cheap makeup for a night out on the town….something most of us in the US take for granted.

If you ever have the time to share a cup of coffee with me I will give you some great stories (well there actually true events)….stuff that would make you look at your life and family in a whole new way.

For now I will just revel in the chance to see one more far off land and add it to my bucket list….

Leave a Reply

