Being Busy is a Form of Laziness

th

I recently read a great blog post from Tim Ferris ,the author of the 4 – hour work week about focusing on truly important work.

In It he said: “If you consistently feel the counterproductive need for volume and doing lots of stuff, put these on a Post-it note:

  • Being busy is a form of laziness–lazy thinking and indiscriminate action.
  • Being busy is most often used as a guise for avoiding the few critically important but uncomfortable actions.”

It got me thinking about the myriads of time sucking meetings and projects that many of us get caught up in each day. With no tangible results to speak of. There isn’t a person reading this post who hasn’t walked out of an hour-long mtg. saying “that was a waste of an hour”.  I can’t even calculate the amount of time I have spent on projects or “required” work that had no real value. Make’s one think of “TPS” reports from the famous 1999 movie Office Space.

So I am not as radical as Tim, but I do think business leaders often mistake being busy as being productive. It’s a lot easier to load up your day with busy work as opposed to focusing 2-3 hours a day on one impactful project.

I have always found that I work best in this way, locking myself in what I commonly refer to as a WAR ROOM with one or two trusted team members and killing a project with intense focus. All of my best work has been as the result of these bursts of activity.

I am not advocating wasting 5-6 hours a day, I am saying find your zone and don’t be distracted by the dogma of your work culture…and to be honest most folks should not be working more then 8-9 hours a day, let alone 12 – 13 hour marathons…

Create your own zone and work style and don’t make excuses for it, just deliver….

Happy Holidays too all!!!

Leave a Reply

