The King of Metaphors

yoda

That’s what one of my staff bestowed on me last yr. See it seems that at the most inappropriate moment I have this uncanny ability t0 blurt out a metaphor, resulting in blank stares, a laugh, and occasionally bewilderment at my spur of the moment ingenuity.

And yet when I want try to create one by focusing, it never appears…..Like staring into the woods and never quite seeing where it ends….

Life is like that to….it gives you time and space, but its up to you to fill it (maybe thats a metaphor).

I have a knack for it, but only when I am not thinking about it…Usually someone will do something stupid and I will react without thinking…it blurts out like a baby burping, no warning…just comes out, and usually projectile.

Now that I work outside a traditional office, I find that I have less opportunities to metaphorically speaking, poetically ramble about my observations by comparing and contrasting to others delight (and frequently my own)….

We used to laugh almost always after one of my quips….of course I also liked to repeat favorite lines from movies to.

“Life is like a box of chocalotates,  you never know what your going to get” – Forrest Gump

And “It’s not personal, its just business” – from the Godfather

My  2 favorites:Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” – Ferris Bueller.

“Do or do not, there is no try” – Yoda

Of course the best are always your own…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

