The End Of My Social Media Experiment

headaboveclouds

I ended my Social Media experiment yesterday. I have to say it was a mild failure. I definitely cut down checking in significantly, but honestly this cowboy fell off the horse a few too many times.

I did learn a few things. More about me then about the narcotic effect of being glued to my phone and computer 16 hours a day.

It’s hard to let go and not check constantly. Unfortunately, we all know this is the way of the world for the foreseeable future. There was one positive outcome from the whole experience. I got to clear my head and think for short bursts of time. It has been a very long time since I have done this. Back when I used to travel at Marcum and before that Leviton, I would spend several hours on planes to the west coast and beyond  losing my thoughts above the clouds. I used to do my best strategic planning on those trips.

This time around it wasn’t business strategy that I thought about. It was life and my goals for the coming year.

And now the calendar has clicked one more year and it is back to the social media grind.

Maybe my little experience failed, but it was a good fail. One I hope to replicate in the coming year.

Not all failures are bad!

Leave a Reply

