Don’t Apologize, Just Fix It…

fixit

One of my favorite “Markisms” is the statement: “don’t apologize, just fix it”. I wrote about this a few weeks ago on this blog. Apologies that is.

So today’s rant is a little bit of closure and a little bit of wishful thinking regarding my University issues all wrapped up in a nice little bow. My meeting with the President at the University finally happened after 8 months. I will say that she ascribes to a similar position like my own, not quite an apology, but certainly an acknowledgement of bad process and some mistakes. She spoke at 50,000 feet for the most part, however did come down to street level with some brutally honest assessment and commenting  on organizational weaknesses and the need to fix them. So I give her a B+/A- for the late mia culpa, and an “A” for transparency and awareness that the issues are bigger than most were aware of just a few months ago. It takes a little humbleness to stare someone down and admit weaknesses and mistakes, even if their was no remedy for me personally on the micro issues that I dealt with this past spring.

The Provost, Associate Provost and Executive Director of the Union were present and just by the audience it was obvious this was no casual chat. We made some real progress for the adjuncts at the University in that there is now an awareness that there are some big issues as well as power in numbers in presenting a unified front in the future. For that I will take a back seat and let others share the  stage of engaging administration. I did my part and safe to say I was on my best behavior too. Aside from a few lite barbs there were no insideary comments…

It felt a little like datente in the UN….

So lets just say I am moving on and hope they are to. More importantly I have their word that they will work to FIX some things…no apologies…and we will be back to see if they practice what they preach.

Leave a Reply

