Better Late Than Never (part 2) – But Not Cancelled Yet!

I know you have not heard from me in a while. Well I have been busy. Three jobs busy for a bit. Now I am settled into my CLA role and added supervising the generalist team in our HR outsourcing and consulting group to my responsibilities. I am also back speaking again. I was at the NY state conference this past September, I am speaking at DisruptHR in NYC this week, and I have a Hodge podge of one offs coming up later this yr.

My only interruptions recently are back to back bouts with Influenza A and COVID. Being back feels strange. Maybe it is the cadence of hybrid versus onsite, or it could be that the world of work has changed dramatically since early 2020. It was already getting strange before COVID, mostly attitudes toward the workplace and pressure to preform at an accelerated pace. I still don’t stare at my cell phone as many of my colleagues do on a consistent basis. My text messages do not even ding or ring when I receive them. For me that is part of my “wellness” program. It does cause a bit of friction on occasion when asked “did you get my text”? There is a balance between being accessible and over run by too much communication.

2023 should bring a return to some sort of “normal”, although the normal is a shift from the past. Conferences are back and video podcasts are popular….unfortunately blogging is loosing steam….video content is now king. Influencers are now a past tense label. I have been doing Clayton and Baldino’s First coffee when I can on Thursday’s. Hilarious and relevant…there is still some good content out there…Chad and Cheese sent me my second t’shirt recently too…they get talent, tech, and snark. Steve Brown is still pumping out a newsletter and I am always on the look out for new and different….

My 3rd Disrupt will be on Cancel Culture, I just couldn’t resist the temptation….and I will have a handful of friends and fans in the audience to cheer me on…

My pickleball game is in a grove (can you say 4.0, or close to it) and my golf game is a twinge better too.

Life is GOOD….back sooner than later…..

Leave a comment